Boston Bookclub

Because we like to write a lot of emails, because we have trouble reaching a consensus, because we're busy people, and, most importantly, because we all have fascinating insights into literature... we are making this space the space where we do all things 'book club.'

Friday, December 19, 2003

Have a Merry Christmas Everyone! I will be going home tomorrow for 9 days!

MISS YA ALL!

Thanks Sheila for the 10% off!

Wednesday, December 17, 2003

Thanks for the 10%, Sheila! I ordered mine that way.

Also, I wanted to put out there that if anyone has any old furniture, especially artwork, curtains, etc, that you may be getting rid of, let me know. We have furnished apartments that we rent on a short term basis to people undergoing treatment at the hospitals. I just went in one and it looks god awful- the furniture looks dirty and there's nothing on the walls. Very depressing. We don't have any $$ to spruce them up but I know sometimes people have stuff that they don't know where to donate it so it ends up getting thrown away. If you hear of any such things, let me know!! thanks guys.

Tuesday, December 09, 2003

So it turns out Jason's "passion" that he is fueling by living with his parents is that he wants to be a weatherman. Hmmm....

And this recap smacked of Say Anything:
He gave her his heart (and a burnt stuffed dog). She gave him an autographed picture and a hug.

Monday, December 08, 2003

Sounds like a plan. See you all at 7 at the Aegean! Mmm Greek Food....
Amen to the Blogger.
Oh, and Jen and Abby, I drive a light blue Jeep Cherokee with a little round blue sticker on the right side back window that says "Life Is Good".
Happily, no, I don't have a mini-van. :) So just to be clear- I am picking up Jen and Abby at the CVS at 6:15? And after dinner we're going to Kelly's. I can take 2 more home from Kelly's. 3 if someone wants to sit in the way-back, although I realize that's not the treat that it was when we were little.
In response to Sheila,

I'd reccommend you and Erin driving on over, since Erin's car is excavated. Maggee and Cat are going home after dinner, leaving just Kathy as a driver. That's 6 people in her car going to my apt. and I'm figuring she doesn't have a mini-van. Also, it'll be easier for the two of you to get home afterward. Just tossing that out there...
OK,
Kathy if you can swing by and pick up abby and jen at the cvs that would be awesome. I will be picking up Katherine and Kelly in downtown, and then swinging back on Storrow to go to the arsenal mall.
HOWEVER, I am not going to be watching Average Joe b/c I have never watched the show and don't really ahve an interest in it. I am willing to drop people off at the place they are going to watch it, but you guys would need to find a way to get home from there. Let me know.
After conferring via telephone with Mag and Kelly, I have formulated a plan for the three of us. Mag will pick up me and Kelly at the John Hancock Tower at 6:15pm. This was formulated under the assumption that Kathy could pick up Jen and Abby at 6:15 at the CVS.

and then Sheila and Erin can converge with us at around 6:45ish at the restaurant?
After dinner the majority will go to 4 falkland for Joe
But, Mag will bring me for home (regretfully missing Joe) and make her way (safely) to NH.
Sound good?
Hey guys, I've obviously missed alot of dialogue. My car is buried and I'd need a ride both to and fro. but I don't think I should be staying out late watching average joe - I kinda want to get back home and sleep since I have a mother of a cold. I could definately be at the CVS, but was there anyone driving who didn't want to watch average joe who could drive me home? Mag, were you going to stay for Joe?
So we're still with the Agean? Is there anyone else that needs a ride? Or, Maggie, I am literally going to drive right past the CVS, so I'm happy to make the pickup if that's easier for you. Anyone else that needs transportation can either take the T to the Longwood stop and meet me here or I'm happy to come get you.
and, can I say, just looking at the volume of messages that has passed in the past hour, can I get an Amen for the Blog?
Thanks Erin for the offer of 4 falkland, but I'll concur with Abby that T accessiblity is key
unless someone wants to give me a ride back to Cambridge... ;0)
I am for the carpool option and I can help pick up people, provided 2 things:1. I get out of work on time (which should not be a problem now, but at 5 it may be a different story). 2. My car is driving OK. Had a little issue on the way into work, which I hope to resolve at lunch, but we will see. With that said, I will volunteer our house for Average Joe viewing (Sheila is that OK for you?). It is still fairly clean from the party and we now have even more seating with the addition of a new couch.

Here is the run down: Maggee will bring Kelly, Jen, Abby. Kathy(?) to the restaurant. Sheila and I can make our way there. That leaves Catherine...what is your car sit? Do you need a ride? Where is best to get you, can we work you into the carpool group? Magge if your car is getting too full, maybe myself or Kathy can pick up the crew in Brookline? That is it. Can't wait to see you all tonight.
What CVS? I think Mag tends to take Storrow and not go directly through downtown so this might be better...or I could meet Mag at Sullivan Square T at 6.15 or so, but if you're (maggie) leaving work earlier, than maybe the mysterious CVS would be a better bet...
groovy...I could take the T out to Jen's nice and easy...I could be there by 6.15 and we could aim to converge on the Aegean by 7. I live fairly close by, so we could head to my place to watch Average Joe at 9 if y'all want (thus ensuring a ride home for myself ;)
Or we could just do Steve's on Newbury. Anyone feel strongly one way or another???
I'm fine with either- my car is accessible (and 4WD) so I can be a driver or we can just meet at Steve's. I'm wondering though if it would be easier to meet at Steve's just so we don't spend all night driving around to collect/drop off everybody (thus missing Average Joe). But I'm totally fine either way- just let me know what the preference is.
Hi All
Here's the carpool express to the rescue!!! I am willing to pick you guys up if you want. I get out at 5:30pm so i can drive around picking you gals up....
I can pick Abby and jen up at their perspective homes, but i don't know where to meet you Kelly? Maybe at Abby's or Jen's??? Or you could take hte T out t ome? i don't know...let me know.
If you want to call me my work # is 617-886-3425.
Hey cats and dogs -
the snaab is literally buried - I don't think he'll be out and about until April.
So, I can either take le bus to the Aegean in Watertown -or- as Jen pointed out, there is a Greek restaurant on Newbury called Steve's which might be more accessible given the snow (Jen mentioned that her car is buried in Brighton, no less)...Then we could perhaps have an average joe screening at Jen's (which I'm volunteering since she lives close to Newbury).
And, hey, Catherine - are you out there?
7:00 is fine with me- I'm all about making it back for Average Joe. It's a sickness, really.

Friday, December 05, 2003

Hello all! I just emailed you all the book list. I hope it's ok. It's kind of diverse, and not normally what i would pick, but I do want to read these.
See you tonight!!!
The Agean is the place i was thinking of too! I am for it, it is suppose to be really good. As for timing, pretty much anytime will work for me. If Average Joe isn't on until 9, do you think we can squeeze in dinner (maybe 7-7:30) and then go and watch the show? Or is that cutting it too tight for us? Can't wait to see the list Maggee! See you all tonight.

Thursday, December 04, 2003

It's funny you mentioned that restaurant abby, someone here at work went there the other day and loved it. I vote for it....

I'm doing the list this week....I'll see if i can get it out tomorrow. I"m pretty slammed at work.

Wednesday, December 03, 2003

yeah - but the preview shows her going to Adam's place and seeing that he was in Fortune or something, indicating that he has real income potential and direction, unlike student/waiter boy. All she does with jason is say how pretty he is when she comes up for air. The chick kisses like a lizard. At least Zac is gone - ewww.
Hi everyone, the 8th is ok for me. I better start chugging away ! Unfortunately I can't really help ya with picking a place ;(
I'm set for the 8th as well! Thanks for the reminder about Average Joe- I'll make sure to set the VCR!!! (I'm so glad Zach got kicked off last week!)
yep yep - the 8th is down for me. That's monday, and, I feel I should point out, is the same night as the series conclusion of Average Joe, beginning at 9. Just putting it out there...

There is a greek place at the hotel on Memorial Drive (near the Trader Joes), and another called Steve's on Mass Ave in North Cambridge. What's the Watertown joint? That could be different....mmmmmm.....Greek food.....