Boston Bookclub

Because we like to write a lot of emails, because we have trouble reaching a consensus, because we're busy people, and, most importantly, because we all have fascinating insights into literature... we are making this space the space where we do all things 'book club.'

Tuesday, January 27, 2004

I think this explains why so many people are undecided, between Dean and Kerry - they look pretty similar in aggregate. Also why Kerry can suddenly swing ahead when dean had been leading.

kucinich & Kerry 100%
Dean 99%
Sharpton 98%
Clark 93%
Edwards 89%
Lieberman 78%


Oh, dear god. Save me. Al Sharpton is my perfect candidate...

Sharpton - 100%
Kucinich - 98%
Kerry - 98%
Dean - 93%
Clark - 90%
Edwards - 85%
Lieberman - 79%
Bush - 23%
My results:
Kerry 100%
Kucinich 97%
Sharpton 93%
Dean 92%
Clark 92%
Edwards 89%
Lieberman 80%
Bush 20%

I haven't delved into the website soo much yet, but am intrigued that behind Kerry, are the two most liberal (and unelectable) candidates. Is it a pro-Kerry site? I am also disturbed that Bush received a 20% for me. I think I need to be cleansed.

Later,
Erin


I'm with Jen- after reviewing how the candidates compare with each other I'm even more opposed to Bush being re-elected. It's disturbing how he is Strongly Opposed to most of the issues I Strongly Support. But I pretty much knew that anyway.
> Hi Everyone,
> here was my results.....interesting, I had made the decision to vote
> for Kerry already! Kerry - 100%
> Kucinich - 96%
> Sharpton - 93%
> Edwards - 92%
> Dean - 89%
> Lieberman - 89%
> Clark - 87%
> Bush - 48%

Monday, January 26, 2004

See you there!
See you guys at 6:30! Where in the Prudential is this place? I was there yesterday shopping my little heart out and I don't remember seeing it........but then I wasn't paying attention to anything that didn't sell shoes. :)
Just wanted to let you know that work is crazy this week...will do my best to be there by 6:30 and will call someone if I am running significantly later than that.

Thursday, January 22, 2004

Movenpick seems like the choice then. So Monday the 26th, at say 6:30?

Wednesday, January 21, 2004

Movenpick works for me...hope to be there for some Kareoke! (although you all probably do not want to here me sing).

Tuesday, January 20, 2004

thanks for reminding me, abby!

I'm thinking of a pre-super bowl warm-up potluck karaoke gathering on Saturday night.
y'all around?
What about the Marche Movenpick at Prudential? It's European style, and kind of upscale food court-ish with a crepe bar, bistro area, etc.

From what I gathered from Abby, the East Somerville place seems sketch. I remember reading something about a similar place where the cabbies like to hop in and pick up food on their tours. Might not be a good lingering restaurant for bookclub.

Or I'm really craving a steak frites...so anywhere I could get that would be good ;)
Magnolia's is not open Monday. Abby, can you find the name of your creole place and check if its open?
Hey Everyone!
>As you may or may not know, Abby and I celebrate a joint birthday on
>Feb 27th. We have decided to go to Montreal for the long weekend of Feb
>14-16th,
>
>to celebrate our birthdays, and because I have never been there and
>Abby wants to go back. We did some research and chose a SWANK hotel to
>stay in (Abby has stayed there before and says its the coolest hotel in
>the world), and now we would like to extend the invitation to all of
>you, to come with us to Montreal if you would like. It won't just be a
>celebration of our birthday, but more of a chance to get away with
>close friends and enjoy being in a different country. So, if you would
>like to join the trip, you should consider the following information:
>
>We are going to stay at "The Hotel St Paul" which is in Old Montreal
>(really
>
>the best area to stay there.) The website is: www.hotelstpaul.com if
>you want to check it out. The rooms are roughly $136 (USD) for a room
>with 2 doubles, but you must add $19.50 a person for more than 2 people
>per room. AKA - if 4 people are sharing the room, you will pay $205 for
>the room, which is $51 per person per night. Parking is also an
>additional $13 a day, but we are hoping to carpool, or maybe avoid
>parking in the hotel's valet parking. This room rate does include
>breakfast as well. Abby and I are going
>
>to book one room for 4 people pretty soon, but we wanted to give you
>the heads up, so you could consider the trip, and think of booking a
>room as well!
>
>Beyond that, we are hoping to go up to Canada on Sat the 14th (early)
>and leave Mon the 16th. What we do or see when we're up there is
>totally up for discussion.
>
>If you need any additional information, or are interested in going to
>Montreal with us, please let me know. It would be so fun to have you!
>
>Love, Maggee (and Abby)

Friday, January 16, 2004

All those choices sound good to me. When I ran a few searches on "Boston French Restaurants," Chez Henri kep coming up. I game for it. Stay warm.

Thursday, January 15, 2004

Mmmmmmm, I'm all about the Cuban influence. Yum yum.

Wednesday, January 14, 2004

MMMmmmmm....Brasseri Jo....fantastic steak frite and onion soup and ... yum!
Probably as costly as Torch. There's also Chez Henri near harvard square which has a bit of a Cuban influence or the Craigie Street Bistrot, a nice neighborhood french-y place also near harvard square.

Or we could join Sheila for dinner in France a couple of days before ... :q
The 26th is good for me- I'll put it on my calender!

Tuesday, January 13, 2004

The 26th is okay, with me. Since Bob's has live music, I think it would be impossible to have a discussion there (also its closed mondays). I would NOT recommend Model Cafe - its pretty much a dive. I don't know any reasonably priced french restaurants, since Le Gamin closed. Torch is closed mondays. Brasserie Jo is open, but I think its a little pricey. entrees are around $20.
The 26th is fine with me. Did the idea of a French restaurant totally get thrown to the wayside?
I don't know of any cajun places, so unfortunately can't help you guys out with this....
I'm putting the 26th on my calendar!
Where should we be planning on going? Cat suggested the MFA, but I believe it is closed on Mondays.

How about the Model Cafe? Do they serve food?

Or for the closest thing to New Orleans cookin' seems to be Bob The Chef's in the south end. They've got a good lookin' jambalya and catfish and etouffee. Magnolia's in Cambridge is also a contender, but they're closed on Monday.

Allow me to lament the lack of good cajun/creole restaurants in greater Boston. Sigh. Finished - thank you.
I vote for the 26th, because the next week my year-end begins at work and am not sure how busy I will be. If that doesn't work for people, I should be able to make the 2nd. I wil start creating the list now.

Monday, January 12, 2004

Hi Guys-
I have finished the book and no night is completely out, but the weeks seem to book up fast so I better put a date on my calendar soon. Any suggestions. How long will it take people to finish up? Also, am I doing the list for the next meeting?

Tuesday, January 06, 2004

I just logged on to post when people were looking to meet. I have started the book and really like it so far! ;)
Any ideas at least where we can meet?
I'm not sure either! Starting next week, however, I will not be available on tuesday nights. I'm learning how to habla espanol!!